September 13

America's Current Official Flag

On June 14, 1777 (now Flag Day), the Continental Congress, adopted the national flag through the following resolution: “Resolved: that the flag of the United States be thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new constellation.” Lore has it that the Betsy Ross Flag was the first official version of the flag.

Since that date, the official flag of the United States has altered – mostly due to the increasing number of states. With the addition of each state, the flag has been modified, until its current composition including 50 stars (one for each state) in the field of blue, and with 13 stripes representing the original 13 states.

This flag is a reflects a deep commitment to the Social Compact.